On Spelleeng, Grammer and kredibility

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a stickler about spelling and grammar. At times, I’ll overlook it, chalking it up to Autocorrect on our phones. I know, as my Iphone does it all the time. However, when it’s blatant or persistent, it feels like nails on a chalkboard. 

There are a couple of situations I can think of where decent spelling and grammar are absolutely necessary; when defending your belief on any particular topic and also in a professional setting.

Today, I was contacted by a FaceBook user who felt that she was being insulted on a group that I help moderate. They used the word “attacked” and was absolutely vehement that they were being insulted. I reviewed the debate, keeping an open mind. On the surface, it simply appeared that someone was merely disagreeing with this person. However, in my eyes, the person who contacted me threw the first punch, calling the person that disagreed with them “uncaring” and using all capital letters in her statements. (For those who do not know, all caps in Internet-ese is interpreted as yelling). However, I hate to say that what further made their stance less credible was the fact that their position was written poorly; using “Then” for “than”, “Thot” for “Thought”, “loose” for “lose”, apostrophes for plurality etc.

I may be the only one who feels this way (or I may not be) but if you feel strongly about a topic, poorly conveying your feelings about said topic by using frequent improper words only makes you look like you have less knowledge; not only about the topic itself, but in general. Abbreviations of words are equally self-harmful. Using “C” for see, “U” for you or “N” for and only do the same as misspelling. Making oneself appear that their less knowledgeable can make themselves less believable.

I have debated many topics I feel strongly about both in private and public settings. Many times, those who feel strongly in the opposite direction as I do, express so strongly, but sometimes I can’t tell exactly how they feel. Often, I can’t understand what they’ve written, or I have to read it several times before I understand the words they meant to say. Thus, to me, their argument becomes invalid.

However, even worse than the average debate with the average person is media. I studied Journalism in college and hold a degree in it. I learned of something called “Copy Editors” who would proofread something before it would go to print. It seems that copy editors are not often used with internet or “quick” media. I see it on splash screens on my television and I see it daily on online news publications; blatant spelling and grammatical errors. Those, to me, are the most painful to read. Oh, the horror I experience when I see a story on television about a “Dog on the lose” or how “North Little Rock fared better then most cities in Arkansas”. It makes me wonder what these poor people actually studied in college or even how they managed to graduate with a degree similar to mine.

But, those are non-permanent situations. They can be fixed, or are only on your screen for an instant. It’s not as bad as the professional signs I see from time to time. The signs that surely had to cross the path of an approval process and then past a graphic designer and then across the desks of a few other people for final approval. Surely, one of those people had to have known that Bill’s Auto couldn’t possibly have “the cheapest tire’s in town!”, right? Certainly “Greasy Burger’s” didn’t pay a professional to make their sign that way, right? Surely “The Smith’s” didn’t just spend $150 for that professionally engraved wooden sign to go on their porch. Certainly Chuck’s Restaurant isn’t “Better then my mom’s home cooking”, right?

Surely they did. And surely, I’ll ask where their sign was printed and surely I won’t patronize them or the company that let their sign hit the printers like that. Because surely, I can’t give them credibility if they can’t get the spelling of a simple word right. I’d worry if they’d get my burger order, tire size or even the spelling of my last name right.

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on January 11, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

