On revival

George and I were talking last night; talking about how I haven’t blogged in a while. I defended the reason, wondering how I could possibly put into a single blog what’s been going on behind our closed doors for the past year and a half.

It didn’t all have to be in one post.

I defended my silence again.

But then, I’d have to tell everyone some of our secrets.

He pointed out that perhaps it was a good thing. That maybe someone out there would read my writing and would be able to relate to a few things going on. Or perhaps, someone would be glad to see that someone else is going through the same things we are.

Ah, but I got burned out!

He said that I burned out because I was trying to make it all thematic. I tried too hard keeping everything in neat little categories and maintaining themes; like the coupons and hoaxes. When I started doing that, it became a chore.

He told me to write what’s on my mind. Not to write for going viral… to just write.

There’s a lot that has been on my mind. There’s a lot I can talk about and plenty of recent experiences that I can share, as well as a few hard life lessons.

Plenty of people write about how happy their lives are, and make things appear as if they’re perfect to the outside world. My plan is to deliver the raw truth. That many times, people actually hide behind a facade or project themselves in a way that others expect them to be.

Nah. Enough of that. I’m telling my story; Not the version that people want to hear, but the version that really happened over the past year and a half and into the future.

I won’t be themed. Some days, I may post a photo of a project I’ve been working on. Some day I may tell you the true story of why I moved 8 months ago. Other days, I may talk about my political stance and others, I may just bitch about my family.

I may swear. Deal with it.

I may tell a story about you. I’ll try to leave your name out of it.

It’s my story, from my perspective, which I have a right to tell.

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on January 9, 2015, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

