From School to work to bed

.. That’s my morning routine now.

Kathryn started third grade a couple weeks ago. That same morning, George started his new job.  Both seem to enjoy the change. George much would have rather continued his lucrative career as a stay-at-home dad, as would I, but our mortgage disagreed.

This change created a small upheaval, if you will, in our home in terms of scheduling and daily routine. We are now a one-car family, so things get a little tricky. I work Tuesday through Sunday from 10pm – 6 am.  My routine is:

Go to work
Go home at 6am
Wake up child
Make breakfast and lunches
Drop husband off at bus stop at 7:10
Drop child off at school at 7:30
Sleep from 8a to 2pm
Pick child up from school at 3
Take her home to do homework
Pick up husband at work at 5
Cook and eat dinner
Go to work at 10pm until 6am

It’s far from luxurious and doesn’t leave much time for “Do laundry”, “Mop floors” or “Clean bathroom” to be added to the routine.  On Mondays and Tuesdays, you can add “Get ready for scouts” in there and take out a few other things like “Go to work”. I try to flip my sleep schedule on my off-days, but it’s not always possible. Take today for example, I slept from 2 am until 6 am and then fell asleep again from 9am till 2 pm. I tend to sleep a lot on my days off. I wouldn’t call it lazy. I call it “exhausted”.

But, that’s the way it is, and I can’t exactly change it.  I’d put my child in after school care, but I’m still leery about that decision after what happened to her two years ago, as well as what happened to the day care she attended five years ago.

My husband and I were looking forward to putting my child into the clubs that have traditionally been available at her school, which would give me an extra hour of sleep daily. These clubs, for the most part, had only had a cost attached if it was a specialty club, for example, Tia-kwan-do, or some art clubs. I’ve paid a few small fees previously and saw no problem with this.  Clubs like a study hall or watching a movie came with no cost. Then, possibly, we would entertain the idea of putting her in after-school care at her own school, which has been available in the past for $120 a quarter.   After-school care, however, only ran from 4-5pm and you were required to register your child for a one-hour club for the interim. Again, this I wouldn’t have minded.

Last week, however, we received an email saying that club signups would start and to watch for the registration. Great! I was excited! I reviewed the list of clubs available and saw that each club, unless it was a state-mandated tutoring session, was a cost no less than $30 for a 9-week period and that after-school care was now $180 each nine weeks.

This meant that if you wanted to have your child in After-school care at her school five days a week, you would be required to pay no less than $150 for one child for clubs and then another $180 for after-school care. There was no warning this would happen. So what about those parents who relied on the school’s after-school care? They were now required to find alternate day care… on a holiday weekend no less.. or pay twice the anticipated rate.

Now, I can understand the justification of no longer having “Free” clubs, but the charge of $30 for study hall and $50 for an actual specific club (like, for example, reading, or movie-watching) is downright ridiculous! Where is this money supposedly going? Will it pay for the seven dead unattended trees that sit in front of her school? Will it go towards repaving the crumbling parking lot? Will it go towards an actual playground? Will a portion or a whole amount of it go towards the teacher? For example, if it all went to a teacher and there was a 25-student limit to a club, then you take 25x$50 x 5 days a week = an extra $6200 every 9 weeks. (or an extra $25,000 each school year for an extra five hours a week). Fantastic! I want THAT job.

So, I could not find it to justify putting my child in school any later than 3pm daily. She understands why. My body objects whole-heartedly, however. But, until I find another solution, I will remain three days a week..

Exhausted.

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Family & Marriage, Kathryn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

