My Grocery Deals of the Week

By popular demand, I’m bringing my coupon segment back!

Yesterday, I visited my local Kroger and WalMart in North Little Rock, and here’s what I found:

Kroger:
If you’re into FREE items, Kroger may not be your best bet this week. However, there were an ample amount of deals that I found.

First, the FREE:

 

 

 

I had a coupon handy for $.50 off Suave deodorant. Since Kroger doubles manufacturer’s coupons, the deodorant was free.

$.50 coupon x 2 = $1 off (101% savings)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, since we’re on the subject of personal hygiene, the July 8 SmartSource coupon book that you find in the Sunday paper ran a $.50 coupon for Colgate toothpaste. Kroger is currently having a 10/$10 campaign on Colgate. If you use the coupon, it’s free since Kroger will double it.

$.50 x 2 = $1 off (100% savings)

 

 

 

And now for the not free, but darn close:

 

 

 

 

I obtain several of my coupons from coupons.com, which allows me to print from my Iphone as well as my computer. I managed to snag 3 copies of this SoftSoap coupon for $.50 off 2 7.5 oz or more. It was doubled, and I saved!

$.50 x 2 = $1 off 2 (75% off original price or 50% off advertised price)

 

 

 

 

 

I wish I could tell you where I clipped this Barilla coupon from, but if you happen to have it, it’s worth it! The coupon is for $.55 off two Barilla boxed pastas. Currently, they’re amongst their 10/$10 deals, and so, I saved $1.10 on two since Kroger doubles coupons worth up to $.65.

$.55 x 2 = $1.10 off 2 or $.45 each (68% savings off original price or 55% savings off sale price)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I took advantage of another 10/$10 deal with the Hamburger helpers. I had 3 $.75 off coupons on hand. (at left) Kroger will not double these coupons, but it still becomes a decent deal overall, especially when you consider how much the cost of the meals are at the local alternative (at right). Granted, WalMart does price match, which is great, but they do not double coupons (doubling comes in handy with the items above!)

$.75 off $3 = $2.25 or $.75 each (25% savings off sale price or 56% savings off WalMart price)

 

 

 

I took my items to the cash register and my husband and I had a bet on what my total would be.  I said $10. He guessed $15.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My total was $9.09 at Kroger. Before coupons and my card, my total was $29.40, a 69% savings overall.

 

 

 

Afterwards, we went to

WalMart:

We didn’t find any deals that we would personally use, however, here are some things that you can get for free right now at WalMart with the use of coupons (We found these with a little help from couponmom.com):

*Bayer Aspirin 32ct (with the use of a $3 off SmartSource coupon from June 24)
*Cutter Citronella Candle 2 oz (with the use of a $1 off coupon from your RedPlum mailer from May 20)
*Black Flag Fly Paper 4 ct (use the $1 off coupon that was in the June 3 RedPlum mailer. It usually arrives in the mail on Wednesdays in Little Rock) (Photo at left)
*Glade Expressions Mist Refill 7 oz (use your $2 off coupon that was in the July 8 SmartSource Sunday insert)

 

If you know of any deals that I haven’t found and you want to let others know about, I’ll be happy to check them out! Be sure to comment about them here. As always, share my finds with your frugal friends (or even not-so-frugal) and Happy Shopping!

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on July 27, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the tips. You may already know this but there is a website that will help identify what coupons are available. Here is the address in case you haven’t used it before.
    http://www.sundaycouponpreview.com/

    Regards,
    Emmett

  2. I picked up the Barilla today, myself! They also have free after coupon Ivory or Safeguard bar soap this week, but I’d already used my coupon. LOL I did stock up on the pasta, though. It’s a great deal on a staple item!

Leave a Reply

