A new chapter

For the past several weeks, I’ve been mulling over whether or not to write about this… even how to approach it. We’ve started a new chapter in our home, somewhat by force.

For the past four years, my husband has worked from 11 am to 8 pm daily.  I go to work at 10 pm and sleep during the day. This schedule has allowed us to not need childcare for Kathryn for nearly two years. For that, we’re grateful.  But, at the same time, it has disallowed George and I to spend any time together. Our conversations have been on the run as I’m leaving for work or over the phone during his lunch break. Unfortunately, our relationship suffered from it. It’s very difficult to communicate effectively in snippets, especially for as long as we had to.

All that changed, however, on June 1 at 1:30 pm when George called me to tell me it was over. Four years of never seeing him was over. He came home from work without his badge that let him into the doors of his office for the past four years. He did come home, however, with all of his desk items.

A new chapter was beginning.

Though the circumstances weren’t ideal, it’s simply what happened. I couldn’t chastise him for losing his job because I’ve been let go before, too. Instead, I made the choice to be as supportive as I could. I told him we had enough saved to get us through a few months, and we do, as my paycheck alone won’t pay all the bills.

I’ve been as helpful as I can as he starts to pursue one of his dreams while at the same time, attempting to find new employment.  I’ve also been doing little things that have earned us a dollar or two.

On the plus side, his new-found unemployment has availed us to extend our upcoming vacation by two days, during which time we plan to do our own thing by ourselves. I now have someone to help keep the wee-one quiet while I catch some sleep. It’s also been nice to be able to get a few more things done during the daytime hours as it’s always difficult to explain why it’s hard for me to accomplish certain tasks during “Business hours”. Now, George can.

And so, here’s to new chapters, new adventures and hopefully, a new happiness.

 

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on June 21, 2012, in Family & Marriage. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I am praying for ya’ll. God is in control always. We love ya’ll. Hope we get a chance to met face to face & visit sometime.

  2. Oh man, Sorry about him loosing his job!

  3. I am so very sorry that this has happened, but I am happy that you get to have him home too, I know it is bittersweet and scary as all get, but for some reason, these things have a way of “working themselves out”. My husband was sent home one Thursday afternoon, an hour early and didn’t have to come back the next day. That was two years ago, and we have survived on unemployment and my salaries since then. I will not kid anyone and say it was easy; it wasn’t. But things seem to happen for a reason. I hope that he finds his “passion” soon, and that life will continue to be interesting for you all. If you need to talk, you know where to find me.

  4. I’m sorry you’ve been forced into a change in this way, but I hope that in the long run that it will end up being a change for the better. We’ll keep you in our thoughts!!

Leave a Reply

