Vigilante justice and the contradiction therein

George Zimmerman was recently arrested for killing a teenager whom he felt put him in danger. Against the advice of the 911 dispatcher, Mr Zimmerman took matters upon himself and pursued Mr. Martin. Had Mr. Zimmerman simply stayed put, Mr. Martin would probably still be alive.

Similarly, yesterday, Michael Sadler was at the Asher One-Stop in Little Rock where he pulled out his wallet. Fourteen-year old Michael Stanley took the wallet from Sadler, which apparently held a significant amount of cash, and left on his bike.

Stanley was a student at Little Rock Alternative School, located close by.

After Stanley fled, Sadler then followed Stanley in his van, chased the kid down over a curb and through a vacant lot where Sadler then ran Stanley over.  But see, witnesses said that Stanley didn’t just leave it at that. They said that Sadler pulled Stanley out from under his car and proceeded to kick and punch him. Once Stanley slumped over and fell down, Sadler then picked him up again, propping the kid against the hood of the van and continued to beat the kid.

Michael Stanley was pronounced dead soon thereafter at a local hospital.

The multi-layered example of the degeneration of society within this one incident is frightening.

First, this took place in the late morning, when Stanley should have been at school. Obviously either the parents were unaware of his truancy or didn’t care. Or, perhaps the school did not advise the parents of Mr. Stanley’s absence. If that were the case, this deepens the fright even more. Is it commonplace for a school to not call the parents if a child didn’t show up to school? If that’s true, then if (hypothetically) a child is kidnapped, then the parent wouldn’t know until three or four in the afternoon! I don’t call my daughter’s school every day asking if she’s in the classroom. If I did, I’m sure the school would kindly invite me to find alternate means of education for my child or order me to a psych hospital.

Now, let’s take a look at how Mr. Sadler handled the situation. After his money was stolen, he intentionally pursued the child with his van. Mr. Sadler jumped a curb and drove through a grassy lot until his van made contact with the child. But, see, that wasn’t enough in Mr. Sadler’s eyes, apparently for he drug the injured child out from under the vehicle and apparently continued to injure the kid further. Vigilante justice. Really? Where is the justice here? Now, Mr. Sadler is sitting in jail on murder charges and the Stanley family is planning a funeral. Does Mr. Sadler feel justified now?

Perhaps if Mr. Sadler had stayed put and called the police, Mr. Stanley would still be alive. Cops can drive faster than a bicycle can move. If they hadn’t recovered Mr. Sadler’s money, there are many kind-hearted people out there who probably would have been able to replenish Mr. Sadler’s lost money.

If the incident alone isn’t scary enough, while reading several comments made by people on various news sites like this, I saw that some of the comments made state that Sadler’s actions were fully justified and that the boy got what he deserved.

I hope and pray to never encounter the people who felt this way. They scare me. Even if it was the last penny Mr. Sadler had to his name, it still does not make killing a CHILD for stealing a righteous act!

It is the people what write this that create children like Stanley who then grow up to be people who act the way Mr. Sadler allegedly did yesterday. Are we too blind to see this?

As parents we are sometimes oblivious of the fact that our kids absorb so much more than we think. If we act one way but tell our children not to act that way, the child will mimic the behavior more so than the words. If we wield a gun and practice violence, but tell our own children that violence is a terrible thing, the child will be likely to be involved in gun violence themselves. If we tell our child to not be prejudice but then badmouth those that differ from us, the child will still grow up to dislike anyone who is different.

Wake up and realize that our children aren’t simply a product of society. They are a product of us. Unless we as adults act like adults we can’t expect our own kids to surpass that.

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Current Events, Social and Technology. Bookmark the permalink. 44 Comments.

  1. Everything you said is exactly what I’m thinking. It’s so sad that someone can be so enraged by the loss of money that he kills another person. I’m slightly encouraged to find that you see it as the horrible situation that I see it as, Emily.

  2. First of all, I don’t agree with Mr. Sadler’s response to the situation. I find it very extreme. On the other hand, it scares me that a kid who is 14 years old is robbing people of their wallets. What will he be doing at 18? I wonder what the punishment would have been if he had been apprehended by the police instead of Mr. Sadler. Just something to think about.

  3. First thing’s first… Mr. Stanley was a THIEF, a criminal. He got what he deserved. Secondly, the “alternative” school he was attending was a school for problem children, he was already on the fast track towards a life of incarceration or death from street violence. Good riddance.

    Calling him a child is an attempt to deflect the fact that he committed a FELONY… why are people so willing to overlook the seriousness of a crime due to someone’s age? 14yr olds are still able to shoot guns and kill people. Look at the crime, not the age. Don’t be distracted from the facts.

    Mr. Sadler was no angel, and perhaps him being locked away for this will benefit society, but there will always be more Martin’s being bred by parent’s that don’t care and a society that embraces and glorifies the “victimized” criminal thug-life.

    I for one am happy to see one less criminal off the streets and buried in the ground where he won’t cost us tax payers more money to support him while he is incarcerated for the majority of his life. I will say a silent prayer of thanks for everyone that would have been his victim’s of various other crimes had he been allowed to live. No his age doesn’t matter in the least.

    • There’s a fine line between “Getting what he deserves” and “Getting what he was probably heading towards in the long run”. Nobody “deserves” to die. The child was 14. Fourteen. To me, the phrase “Getting what he deserves” is the same as saying “Killing someone is an appropriate punishment for stealing a wallet.” That’s scary.

      When I was fourteen, admittedly I was stealing candy from the pharmacy and doing a few other things I would never tell my child I did. Consequence for my actions were never a consideration when I was 14. So, by this reasoning above, since I stole some candy from the pharmacy, does this mean I should have been punched and beaten by the owner? I sure hope not.

      However, proper guidance could have probably still salvaged this child.

      I find it sad that your statement seems to throw away a still impressionable child… and it’s that exact mindset that I’m trying to drive home. It’s this attitude of throwing away kids instead of salvaging them that leads to the degeneration of society and people feeling that shooting each other, stealing, disrespecting, etc is the best way to deal with issues.

      • It takes a community, not individuals to turn OUR teens around. I applaud your comments Emily! I find it easy to write off, dismiss, even say good riddance.

        I was just talking with some people on the metro head home about generation Y. We did this, generation X, so it is up to us to make due with what we have now and be accountable for OUR teens.

        I too did some of the same things at the pharmacy and candy stores. And it took one level headed individual to correct me. Here I stand today to make a stand. OUR issues, OUR problem, and OUR resolution.

        I’m not giving up and writing off our teen! Bottomline!

      • I still have trouble accepting the fact that us, Generation X, are old enough to have teenagers. I’ll probably accept it when I’m 50 though. And yes, it does take a village and not just a person. People are influenced not just by their parents (though that’s a HUGE impact), but by extended family (I’m a case in point) as well as those in the community they see often.

        It’s actually partly why I volunteer as much as I do.

    • I find it ironic that you specifically mention “one less criminal off the streets … where he won’t cost taxpayers more money”. Is that not where Mr. Sadler is now, doing just that?

      And like mentioned, being beaten to death is not a logical consequence for a 14 year old. Fourteen?!? He was still just a baby!!

      • I caution that considering these criminals as “kids” and “babies” is a dangerous proposition.

        Yes, I agree MOST of them are, however, to deny that there are 12, 13 and 14 year olds that are capable of killing in cold blood is naive to the point of reckless.

        It is a dangerous game to look at any of them as less than they are capable of.

    • Just saying, my 14 year old is not a criminal, but is in alternative school, for grade recovery! Unfortunately, the schools in Bryant middle school call when your child misses school at 7pm that night. Highschool, we receive a letter in the mail. Maybe the parents, school and society as a whole failed this child, but the man had no right to run him down and beat the life out of him. Leave it to God to punish those who deserve it. And let the officers do their job. After all, we pay their wages too! So now, a child has lost their life over a few dollars, we are still paying the police officers wages even though they weren’t called, and we get to pay for the Sorry Son of a $&@#% that took matters into his own hands, to rot in jail! Yeah, sound like justice to me! NOT!!!

      • From a different perspective, 7pm is just too late to let a parent know that their child missed school. That’s 12 hours after they were supposed to be there, on average and a good 4 hours after they were supposed to have been home. A kid can get far, or a lot can happen in 12 hours.

    • hum.. now lets put the same killing on another child ( yours ) now would you feel he got what he deserves. think about what you’re thinking
      it’s seem to be ok if it;s another race or someone else child but when we change shoes it oh so different God help us to have and show mercy for our children and there parents

    • Nathaniel McGee

      Mike, initially I had a list of horrible and nasty things I wanted to say to you that would probably only serve to make a few more people who want to think like you to do so. However, kinder voices seem to cry out and suggest this might be a teachable moment for someone. Until you’ve actually experience and encountered every child attending an Alternative School don’t condemn all because you don’t what got this child to ultimately be assigned there. Did you know after some kids have been referred to the principal’s a certain number of time they are automatically assigned alternative school. Did you know kids can referred to the Principal’s office for not having proper writing materials or being late for a class or not having a permission slip or in the teacher’s judgement not being prepared for class or not turning in required homework? Unfortunately in some folk minds some of these things are interpreted as being disruptive and even not being conducive to the learning evironment! What about some kids who miss class for two or three consecutive days and are suspended and ultimately assigned to alternative school. Has anyone bothered to check how many kid in the Little Rock School District or the other two Districts for that matter are homeless and/or living with grandparents, aunts, uncles and family friends? Kid don’t simply wake up one morning and decide I’m going to cut school or I’m going to be disruptive so I can be sent to an Alternative school! We only see the effect most of the time and have been conditioned to not even ask or think about cause – and unfortunately a lot a people see race and automatically decide the cause. Mike this written for you but others are most welcome to …..

  4. And one more thing… since you mentioned Treyvon in your initial post. Where is the National Outcry and protests and marches and Rev. Sharpton and Jesse Jackson over this incident? Nowhere, even though I would argue that this is a more heinous and deliberately brutal incident than Treyvon’s.

    I surmise that there is no interest in this because, inside, people know this 14 year old was a criminal and justice was served, and also in this case, it was a black man killing a black teenager. Nobody cares when that happens because there isn’t a stage for the racism card to be played, and that is what these celebrity hacks live for. How many black teenagers are murdered every year, by gunfire or other means? ALOT, way more than is necessary, yet, there are no protests and cries of outrage over them because the majority of the perpetrators are black, thus, it is acceptable. Let someone not black kill one, oh my God look out! The sky is falling. Double standards of hypocrisy that need to be screamed loud and often.

    • Mike,

      The difference here is that George Zimmerman was allowed to walk for several weeks for killing Martin. It’s THAT that ticked people off.

      Mr. Sadler was arrested on the spot.

      No outcry needed.

      • Yes, he was allowed to walk because there was not any grounds to arrest at that time. Yet, he was pronounced guilty on the public stage simply for the races involved. Nobody stopped to think it might have been self defense.

        My personal opinion: I think Zimmerman is an idiot that brought this on himself for following Treyvon, he had no business getting involved beyond dialing 911. However, Treyvon is NOT the angel that the media wants to promote, and the fact that they only show photos that are 3 years old (before his gold teeth and tattoos) shows that it is biased anyway. I hope Zimmerman gets what he has coming to him for being stupid, but the fact that the media is schewing this in a direction away from what Treyvon really was is what annoys the heck out of me.

      • Iris A L C T Slade

        Zimmerman plan and ploted this incident after he was told by the police to stand-down,so he can not claim self defense Zimmerman is not an angel.

      • In my personal opinion, we don’t have proof either way of what happened except for witnesses. I’ll assume you weren’t as I was not. However, I do agree that standing down when a dispatcher told him to would have been the right decision instead of following the kid and making (somewhat undecipherable, probably racist) remarks and following the kid. If someone was following me, I’d probably feel threatened too. Maybe they were both acting in self defense, I don’t know.

  5. hmm my take… there is no national out cry etc… because the guy who killed the child was jailed and charged right away…. as it should have been…

    At 14 there is still time to turn this child around the right right path. I don’t know the child or know much about the story at all, but having been through ‘the system’ when I was a child… there are many things I learned and had I not gone through ‘the system’ I likely would not be the person who I am today…

  6. I agree that my point of view on this matter is sad and scary, it is a shame that I am driven to feel this way based on the realities of this world we live in. I wish it wasn’t like this. I have looked at 13 year olds in the face that have the same, dead hardened stare that 30yr old convicts have. They are out there. Please don’t misunderstand me, I know it is NOT the majority, however, I will not deny they are out there. The bad guys don’t wear signs proclaiming who they are or what their intentions are. Be aware that they exist, sometimes very young.

    I also agree that there is hope for most 14yr olds to turn their life around, again with a clause. They MUST be removed from the environment that causes this problem, the single parent, welfare entitlement environment. If they are left to grow in that, there is no hope. You want to save these kids? Remove them from homes that are obviously unfit, we as adults know when someone has NO BUSINESS having kids, yet they are allowed to have and indeed make even more. THAT is the cycle that needs to stop if we are going to save the kids. There is not another way.

  7. I’m sorry one more thing… anyone that want’s to see these “babies” in the age range of 12-17 in action, come out to the McCain Mall and Lakewood village area on Saturday nights in North Little Rock. Please leave small children at home. If it isn’t raining out, you will see the products of society in action. I really wish the news would show up with a camera and record what it is actually like.

    • Shall we go ahead a slaughter them, then? It should be easy to do with them all in close proximity. Also, following your logic above, it would not qualify as “murder” per se; since we can justify our actions. These teens are committing acts of public disturbance and group violence. Since they are all on an irreversible path of escalated crime, their proclivities will invariably lead them to gang murders and riots. Why not “nip it in the bud”, so to speak, and bury them all where they can do no further societal damage? After all, we cannot burden the taxpayers by jailing the criminals.

      Be wary of making arguments to rationalize killing. It really doesn’t matter what age the perpetrator is. Death is not a proportional response to property theft.

      Can I say that I would not react with violence in a similar situation? No. You would need an X-ray machine to find my empty wallet after I was through with him. But he would be alive to remember the lesson (and the extraction.)

    • I have one of the “babies” in this 12-17 age range, two of them in fact, and I know full well what they can act like. I also know that they have potential to be decent human beings. Mine are. And I am not one of these mom’s that are oblivious to what their child is actually doing. I have GOOD kids, however, if you were to see them out in public, it seems that you already have it in your mind that they are bad kids capable of murder… automatic stereotype and not even giving them a chance to prove themselves.

      I do think this went a little excessive also, one kid steals one wallet – not that it wasn’t wrong or a crime – and suddenly they are all potential murderers…

  8. Allow me to clarify, being aware of someone’s capability to commit murder is not the same as treating everyone as a murderer (potential murderer). The only way to be caught unawares is to deny mentally that something can happen. In a sense, burying your head in the sand and waiting / hoping to become someones victim. I love my family too much to be caught unaware and turning a blind eye to someones capability of violence.

    You can choose to live two ways, aware of human beings of all ages ability to do harm unprovoked and keep you and your family safe, or you can be a common sheep grazing in the grass with your head down counting your lucky stars that someone decided not to prey on your family that day.

    I realize that accepting the fact that people of all ages are capable of cold blooded violence is a scary thought, it shatters that imaginary bubble of security that you had been living behind, however, waking up to the possibility of unprovoked interpersonal violence is the only way to keep yourself safe by your hand, and not under the graciousness of someone that decided not to hurt you today.

    That is all I am trying to say, I am not generalizing with a broad stroke ALL kids, I thought I made that clear, I am simply stating that the evil ones are out there and you must acknowledge that fact or become a victim when they see fit. And yes, George, in a perfect world, a hardened criminal of ANY age should be put to death rather than subjecting more innocent people to their whims simply because you don’t have the heart or strength to take a life.

  9. Your ‘Justice for Trayvon’ meme has been disproven six ways from Sunday, but bless your Liberal heart, keep on using Zimmerman’s misfortune to suit your storytelling needs.

    • I mention the incident through 3 lines of my blog for the purpose of contrast, while a majority of it was about what happened locally. Bear in mind a majority of it was not about the Florida incident.

      The whole picture I’m trying to convey is what Mike touched upon above.. and that is that overall, regardless of who is right and who is wrong in either case, there are several things wrong with the mindset of our society, that we can’t just let cops ‘take care of it’ .. that many feel that they have to take matters into our own hands.

  10. All kids are foolish and impulsive and make foolish choices–some with deeper consequences than others. I mean, this kid stole a wallet from a man in broad daylight and then took off on a BIKE, not a car, and he obviously wasn’t much of a criminal mastermind if the guy in the van found him so quickly and easily.
    To say that this young man (since some people seem to object to calling him a child) deserved to be run over and pummeled until he was dead for stealing a wallet is even more foolish.
    Is there any proof that this kid was headed for a life of crime? Is there any proof that Mr. Sadler was just some poor innocent victim?
    No one deserves to have their possessions stolen, and no one deserves to be executed for stealing a wallet.
    There is no death penalty for theft.

    Yes, the boy deserved to face the consequences of his criminal act, but he should have faced the APPROPRIATE consequences.

    Who was the bigger criminal in this case? And even if Mr. Sadler had a criminal past, even he shouldn’t have ended up facing murder charges over a stolen wallet.

    And since there’s no way to know what kind of person Michael Stanley would have turned out to be, there’s no way to claim that his murder was in any way justified.
    Can you tell by looking at someone whether or not they are a “hardened” criminal or an “evil” criminal? If not, then it’s not your place to say that such a person deserves to die.

    And even if Michael Stanley would have gone on to rob a store or break into a house, he would STILL not deserve the death penalty for such crimes.

    I just hope that none of the people whose comments I saw in regard to this incident ever have children of any age who get into trouble, because they could easily end up facing someone like Mr. Sadler.

    • Since I wrote this blog, so much more has come to light about the situation. The father said that though they’ve tried teaching him right, they still don’t know why he wasn’t at school that day.

      Why was Mr. Sadler willing to pay a 14 year old (and show the kid) the large sum of money to basically play detective for him?

      Have you seen the surveillance video from the 1-stop?

  11. I admit, I don’t think this kid should have been killed. But lets face the facts, he was well on his way, and one day would be, a hardened criminal,and who knows what he would hade done, who he would have killed, how many lives he would have destroyed. Why are we putting all the blame on Mr. Saddler? Doesn’t his parents have to share? Doesn’t the School? Dosen’t the justice system, who lets these young thugs get off with a slap on the wrist? The music these young thugs listen today glorfies crime?
    Had Mr.Saddler called the Police like the writer of this article suggest he should do, that probably would have been the last Mr. Saddler would have heard from the Police or his money. I am not putting the Police down, its just they are overwelmed with crime. The Police consider this to be petty crime. A report would have been filed and the last heard of it. But this wasn’t petty to Mr. Saddler. Who knows when, or what had happened to Mr. Saddler in the past? And I would like to know who was going to make up what Mr. Saddler lost? I don’t know of anyone standing around ready to reimburse people who have been robbed.
    The last I heard, stealing was a crime. When are these young thugs going to learn, crime does not pay, and sometimes it may cost you your life. No, Mr. Saddler should not have taken his life. But sometimes the price you pay for crime, may be higher than you want to pay.

    • Not all blame here goes on Mr. Sadler and I apologize if anyone took it that way. The blame actually here, goes upon society as a whole. As I stated in a comment below, what happened in both of their histories to make them feel that a) Stealing was an act that would be acceptable b) chasing a kid down was OK c) skipping school with another juvenile was OK d) that your child skipping school on more than one occasion was something that didn’t need some hard-core attention e) that trying to make some kind of deal or arrangement with a kid was going to go over well or even f) that several people would actually think that running over a child was a justified act on the part of Mr. Sadler.

      • Mrs. Spurrier
        You did hit one thing right on society as a whole being to blame! I don’t mean to blame for this or any other of these type incidents in particular! Society as a whole for letting our elected government politicians ruin this country. America could have been saved from most of the problems (extreme violence, extreme theft and fraud, extreme hatred, extreme lack of morals, and extreme lack of keeping God in the decisions for our country) we encounter today but I personally believe it is too late to turn this around! I am not about doom and gloom and just give up and die. I am just saying that the fact is society is every man (woman) for themselves! And I mean myself! I am all about my family, children and grandchildren, don’t have a wife, and me! It would be nice if it were REAL that we, the good, could change the way people, the bad, REALLY are today and if everyone good were to be HONEST, we all would admit we (the good) have our hands full handling our own safety and welfare for our families to find the REAL amount of time amd effort it would take to rid ourselves of America’s Corruption! Voting hasn’t helped us!

  12. Mrs. Spurrier
    I have to ask you how you know that Zimmerman pursued Martin when it has been said by Zimmerman that he did in fact stop his pursuit and Martin attacked him. I am NOT saying that is or is not what took place but you on the other hand say you know. The trial hasn’t taken place yet has it? Has the legal system found and given out the “actual” facts? I am not taking a position for or against either one but I am not a writer that writes about my assumptions. Assumptions are why this and many other newsworthy situations get so far out of hand.

  13. Mrs. Spurrier
    I see you posted that more had come to light…and there will probably be more still to come to light.
    The father did say they tried to teach him right. How hard did they try is the question. What happened to this 14 year old is his parents fault in my opinion. A teacher or spokesperson for the school was quoted as saying the 14 yr. old hadn’t attended school with any regularity for some time. If 14 is a kid then his parents should be in jail! If 14 is an adult, or young man, then he should have known it is wrong to steal (and he did) and he alone chose and created the situation that he knew “could” lead to a bad outcome be it jail or death! It will never change until every parent is a great parent and that isn’t to be in this life!!!

    • You’re absolutely right about the irregularity. I forgot about that fact.

      My husband and I have been struggling ourselves (at a much lower-key scale, though) to impress upon our child the importance of education. It’s rough, but no matter how rough it is on us regarding our kid and her emerging indifference towards school, WE aren’t giving up.

  14. “Perhaps if Mr. Sadler had stayed put and called the police, Mr. Stanley would still be alive. Cops can drive faster than a bicycle can move. If they hadn’t recovered Mr. Sadler’s money, there are many kind-hearted people out there who probably would have been able to replenish Mr. Sadler’s lost money.”
    ?????????????????????????????????????????????

    Really? What planet is this author from? She obviously does not spend much time down on Asher…..Stay put and call the cops? The thief disappears and is long gone…cops show up in about 45 minutes – maybe. Depends on whether a weapon is involved….Certainly swiping a billfold is no justification for murder but if you are in this neighborhood and willingly allow your goods and money to be taken, you will end up stripped of your goods and money. Reality is not pretty sometimes. Some of these “children” are insolent disrespectful and oozing with contempt. Often they are of the stature of an adult. I have never heard of anyone checking ID when you are being robbed. It is terribly unfortunate, and again no excuse for murder – but that will come out in the trial. Neither the author nor anyone else can make the determination that a murder took place here. It could be an unfortunate accident brought about by the action of the thief. In any event, this is written from the perspective of someone who has never trod the streets where this happened. I would like to know where and who the “kind-hearted people” are that are apparently out there running around giving people their money after they have been robbed. I don’t think this has happened around here lately…..This statement is blatantly “Pollyanna” and completely out of touch with reality.

    • I actually lived on Breckenridge and Rodney Parham for 2 years before I moved to my current house. I probably don’t need to elaborate beyond that.

      I hated the movie PollyAnna.

      In all seriousness, Yeah, you’re probably (probably? Nah, definitely) right there about the 45 minute time frame and the kid would be long gone, and it would probably be too much manpower to try and find a kid on a bike.

      However, the point I was trying to make still exists. Was the act worthy of chasing the kid down? Probably. Off road? That part is debatable. Running the child over with your car? No. Beating the child up to death? Absolutely not.

      Now, the allegations are that Mr. Sadler showed Mr. Stanley his money in trying to make a deal with the child.

      Instead of pointing fingers the one whose fault it is the incident is, let’s look at the big picture, here. WHY did this happen. WHY wasn’t Mr. Stanley in school. Why was Mr. Sadler interacting with the two kids. WHY did Mr. Stanley feel impulsed to take the money? What series of incidents in the histories of these two people caused them to think that what they were doing was right or justified?

      • Well….we probably agree more than I thought. Yes, the kid needed to be chased down and taught a lesson, and the man recover his property. I don’t think anyone in their right mind would actually and honestly think it would be justified to run him down and kill him. The point being, regardless of the circumstances, the kid snatched the wallet and ran. Believe me – there may be many “good-hearted people” in the neighborhood, but the man never would have seen his money again. No one knows what that cash meant to the guy, but again, all of that will come out in the trial. For the time being, we can never know all that was at play. Some injuries can take a bit to show themselves. Was the kid fighting back, etc? I don’t know, and I truly feel for the family of this boy – regardless of the circumstances…but I can tell you this – anyone trying to take my property or harm my family will pay a price, then and there. Right or wrong I empathize with anyone who takes measures to defend what is theirs. As you can see, many others do as well. They just voice it in harsh terms: “he got what he deserved”, etc. Of course he didn’t deserve death, but there is no guaranteed outcome to such matters…..You have to understand the mindset. No one called to mind their history or various incidents that made them what they were at that moment in time. They acted in that moment. Unfortunately for them all, the circumstances that came together at that instant were tragic. I reserve judgement, and pray that the family of the lost boy will find peace. At the same time, I hope that the bright light of objective justice will prevail…..It usually does.

      • Witnesses say he wasn’t fighting back, I think I read. The boy went limp under the car I do believe. They also said that the man offered the boy the money. I’ll be following the trial when it happens (in a sort of twist, it’s actually part of my job).

  15. I am sorry the young man(Stanley) is dead. When he chose to steal Sadler’s wallet, he chose whatever the outcome would be. We know he knew he was doing wrong because he ran. Anger can cause terrible things to happen. Sometimes people die. I’m not saying it was right. I’m also not saying it was wrong. It was a sequence of events created by a bad decision on the part of Stanley. Decisions have consequences. Sometimes they go beyond what we think is fair or justifiable.
    Zimmerman pursued a man who he later shot and killed. As the agressor he has no basis for a claim of self-defense. If I am chasing you, I am the agressor, I do not become the victim because you decide to stop running and STAND YOUR GROUND. Which, ironically, is the law Zimmerman is trying to use as his defense. You’re not he victim simply because you lose the fight.

  16. As for cops driving faster than bikes… I once had a guy come into my office with a stab wound to the back. I dialed 911. Nearly an hour later they showed up. My office was one block from the police station. ONE BLOCK. About six blocks from the fire department. I love and respect our emergency personnel, but I’d rather my name appear on a police report than a toe tag.

Leave a Reply

