Stress out, freak out, panic, :facepalm:

I don’t often go into a panic.

OK, so maybe I do.

But truthfully, I don’t often call everyone in my phone book in full-out-feak-out mode. Last night, I sure did.

My days, when not at work, have been lately consumed by one misbehaving child, four girls graduating up to the next level of scouts, one printer that has become a paperweight at the peak period of its necessity, ten years of marriage coming up that I’m trying to plan a weekend trip for and a twenty-year upcoming reunion 750 miles away. Last night, I was the mighty multitasker trying to juggle all of the above at once.

Kathryn was caught not doing classwork again and was suffering the wrath of mommy.

I was trying to arrange and plan my final two scout meetings of the school year.

I was also relay-emailing a High School friend about a project she and I are working on for our reunion.

In the background, I was removing junk programs from my computer hoping to get to the bottom of why my printer was suddenly not communicating with my laptop..  right when I needed to print out my plans for the biggest scout meeting of the year.

 

It was around this time that I heard my email chime go off and I looked.  Immediately, my child, from her room, could hear an array of words that she automatically knew to never repeat until she reached the ripe age of at least 18.

*****

I live in North Little Rock, you see, and we are zoned for the lowest-scoring public school in the District. As a result, we opted to put Kathryn in a private school her kindergarten year. Last year, we had her placed in one of the better schools on the condition that I had her in after-school care. Well, because of my refusal to put her in daycare any longer. I work overnight, which allows me to pick her up every afternoon directly after school. Thus, she would default back to our local school.

She’s currently enrolled at a local charter school and loves it there. The short drive to her father’s work is convenient for the both of them and the fact that she already had established friendships with several of the students there was a bonus. We promised her this year that we won’t put her through the wringer of switching schools over and over again, unless we moved.

*****

The email, which came from her principal, stated that the Charter school that my daughter had grown to adore was reportedly closing at the end of the year and that we would need to find alternate schools. The staff had been informed of the news and the apologies were numerous for the inconvenience.

I immediately picked up the phone and called a fellow scout/charter school mom I knew and told her about it.

That’s when the panic struck.

It was after open enrollment! I probably wouldn’t be able to plead my case successfully in getting her into another school. I didn’t want to put her in the school that the other kids on our block were going to. It would have required me to drive from work (downtown) at 6 am and then come BACK downtown four times within 24 hours to pick her up, take her to school and then come back to work. I had little to no desire to make that trek so many times in one day!

I couldn’t home school her! I need to sleep!

I could put her in a school in Maumelle I suppose.. but I didn’t want to make that drive either…

Oh my gosh! What was I going to do! I had to call more people!

I called another one of my scout moms, but she was out with her husband celebrating their anniversary. Oh, no. I wasn’t going to call her cell phone. They needed their time together.

I called ArkieMama because somehow that just made sense in my panic-stricken moment.

I called one of my scout dads who suggested we start a petition against them shutting down the school (his children also attend said school). He then suggested I just sit, relax and have a cold one.  “OHMYGOSH, I’M OUT OF BEER!!!”

Now, things are escalated!

I called my mom

I called my neighbor across the street.

I called my husband (who I knew was at work and unable to get to the phone)… twice.

I even talked to another one of our bloggers for a few minutes.

It was she who asked me to sit down and read the email again. Yep, it said the school was closing… but.. there was another email.

 

The principal’s email was hacked. The school isn’t closing. Sorry for the trouble. Carry on as normal.

Oh. OK. Um…

 

And so, I called my mom

I called my neighbor

I texted ArkieMama

I texted George

I called the scout parents; all three of them

I told them all it was false and all was well, apparently, and that Kathryn will be there next school year.

 

I sat down, calmed down and hit “print” on my laptop while crossing my fingers. My photo printed perfectly. My world was on its axis again.

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Family & Marriage, Girl Scouts, Kathryn, Parenting, Social and Technology. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Shelly Magneson

    All i can say is Wow!

Leave a Reply

