Sometimes it is worth the few dollars

When we lived in Minnesota, Kathryn was lucky enough to receive several batches of hand-me-downs from her big cousin Sarah (she’s barely a big cousin, as they’re only a year apart in age). But, it seemed that as quick as she grew into some clothes, she grew right back out of them. Thus, buying clothes brand new all the time would have gotten pretty expensive.

I’m not one to mind consignment clothes. I don’t get the ‘heebie jeebies’ at the thought of my child wearing something another child wore before her (I just am always sure to wash them real well before giving them to her!). And so, I’ve always tried to buy her things second hand if I could. Up there, we only had a Once Upon a Child to rely upon for good used clothing and consignment.

Once we moved down here, though, with so many consignment options and hand me downs now coming from another one of her cousins, I was rarely buying her clothes brand new. This is still something about this area I love.

George and I have been trying to come up with ways to save up for our upcoming vacation to attend my High School Reunion. Though I vowed to myself to not do it again, I opted to consign with Rhea Lana’s  this year. They rented the old Levy WalMart this time, which is almost walking distance from my home. The fact that I don’t have to fight mall traffic to get to the sale this time was a high point of my week! The location was perfect and quite spacious (even my husband commented on that fact this morning!).

I'll keep track of my sales through my Iphone. Their mobile site makes it pretty easy!

Kathryn and I went through her closet the other day and found several items that she’ll either never wear or has outgrown. She also went through her toys, omitting several that she hasn’t’ played with in years. She has ventured out of the Preschool song genre and into the Pop and Radio Disney songs and so, her baby CDs also were taken out of the closet.  In all, we came up with 41 items to place for sale.

Since I have the equipment to do it at home, I printed and put together my own labels (though Rhea Lana’s offered to print them for me, but I declined). In all, between the sorting, hanging and the labeling, this took the three of us a cumulative total of about two and a half hours. If I make about $50 (I keep 70% of the money earned), $25 per hour is a pretty good income if you ask me!

Today, we dropped off our items. Some were rejected, like the jackets she had outgrown and a couple of shirts that had stains on them that I didn’t catch when we were sorting. Overall, though, most of my items were accepted and are now hanging on the racks waiting to sell this weekend.

While walking around, putting our items in their assigned places, we saw so many exciting things that we can’t wait to consider buying this weekend. As a consignor, one gets in a little earlier than the general public to shop. We saw Legos, bikes, cribs and seas among seas of clothes. Kathryn found a bin of Star Wars toys, which, she was disappointed to find was labeled as a “boy toy”. Mind you, this was just after she dropped off her own old race car collection into the bin next to it. Silly girl.

You know, I may even convince George to come with me when I go find new shorts and maybe a couple of Legos for the Mini-me! Yeah. Right.

So many clothes to choose from, and they are still accepting items until tomorrow night!

Kathryn helped me put clothes on the sales racks.

I haven't seen one of these in YEARS!! They still make them?!

Fully furnished three-story home, great view. Car included. $110.

This is apparently a motion-activated horse!

 

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on April 11, 2012, in Current Events, Parenting, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. LOL! My friend bought that dang horse! Unless there was more than one!

Leave a Reply

