On my honor, I will try, to stay sane..

A recent spare bedroom takeover

Since January 9, I have been ankle, then waist and finally, neck deep in Girl Scout cookie season. I was handling Kathryn’s 350 boxes that she independently sold and then, also arranging booths and cookie pickups for other parents and said booths.  I’ve done some of the paperwork that goes with keeping track of where all these hundreds (if not thousands) of boxes are going and I’ve been taking a frequent inventory.

I’ve cleared our spare bedroom of the cookie takeover and next, I just have to rid my garage of the troop’s booth cookies (ah, just a few more days!).

A field trip to FireFly back in November

My husband will no longer be a scout widow for the next month and with Spring Break coming, I’ll get a slight reprieve from meeting planning. I’ll need it.

This time of year, I probably put in about 20-30 hours a week into the scouts. For this work, however, I get paid absolutely nothing. Do I mind? Absolutely not. I enjoy every minute of it. I may grumble a little when one of my sixteen girls in my troop give me a hard time. I may sigh some when it comes to cookie distribution complications. I may stress a little when trying to decide what to do at my next meeting with eleven brownies and five daisies, but in the end, I really don’t mind. I’m having fun.

Some of my fondest childhood memories were with scouts.  I remember the first time I had to use a non-flushing latrine. I was 10. I remember painting the front windows of our local grocery store when I was seven.  I remember when I was eleven, we made a HUGE paper mache Easter egg. What a mess…   Now, much of what Kathryn talks about has to do with things we did in Scouts and I have pride in knowing “I did that.. I helped these sixteen girls make memories that will last the rest of their lives”.

Brownies, first grade. I'm the one standing up.

I still talk to some of the girls I was in scouts with. I see one of my friends from my Brownie days often. I found one of them from when I was Kathryn’s age on FaceBook just yesterday. I still communicate with one of my former leaders. Sadly, my other leader passed on just days after Kathryn was born.

Today marks the 100th Anniversary of Girl Scouts of America. If you were ever a Girl Scout, today is your day. Cast aside all controversial rumors. Dismiss any hoaxes you may hear about the organization and know that these girls walk away with experiences they don’t get anywhere else and friends that will last a lifetime. For that, I volunteer.

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on March 12, 2012, in Current Events, Girl Scouts, Kathryn. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I was in Brownies for two years when we still lived in Kentucky. My mom was my troop leader. I had so much fun. I still remember a baking competition in which I made a peanut butter and raisins concoction. 🙂
    We looked for a troop for me to join when we moved to Booneville, Ark., but unfortunately the closest one was in the next town. I never got to join and I really missed it.

Leave a Reply

