You're beautiful, it's true

My mini-me at 2 months old

This is my mini-me.  She’s named after her father, myself and her maternal great-grandmother. She was born on a Thursday afternoon, weighing eight pounds even. The first thing I noticed about her was her cleft chin and her brown eyes… those HUGE brown eyes. The next thing I remember noting was how perfect she was. No flaws. No extra fingers. No extra toes. Somehow, I had created a perfectly healthy baby.

When I was younger I always had known I’d have a little girl with big brown eyes and light brown hair. Don’t ask me how I knew…  I just did.

When mini-me was a baby, people were constantly commenting on her features. Some suggested I put her in modeling. I didn’t want to. I wanted to protect this little miracle with everything I had in me.

Now, mini-me is tall and skinny like her grandfathers. She’s only gained 40 lbs since birth but comes up to my chest in height. She wears a size 3 1/2 shoe, which is actually very large for an (almost) 8 year old. Her face is now adorned with freckles like her momma’s was. She has a mole on her thigh that’s been there since she was a baby. Her father and I can barely find the birthmark on her hairline now. She has the same pointy left ear that her big cousin, Wade, has. Chances are, she’ll need braces in a few years.

Poor baby

 

 

This is the note mini-me handed me the other day after an especially trying afternoon.

 

 

 

 

 

Mini-me at age 6

My heart sank. My beautiful, perfect mini-me thought she was ugly. Her father and I immediately sat her down and told her everything I told you above. .. how she was everything I’d dreamed of. How she has so many friends… We showed her which of each other’s features we noted she had, including Wade’s left ear. I told her how people tell me all the time how beautiful she is and how joyous she acts. My mini-me is NOT ugly. We told her how daddy is not looking forward to her becoming a teenager because we just KNOW that the boys will be knocking down our door. We were promptly reminded by mini-me that boys were icky. Not for much longer, my child.  Not for much longer…

After about half an hour of pep talking to her, mini-me tore the note up, giggled and gave us both a hug. We tucked mini-me in, gave her hugs and kisses and hoped to never have to see a note like that again.

 

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Family & Marriage, Kathryn, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Aww, we all go through that. Hopefully your little beauty will rebound to a happier place.

  2. Your mini-me is gorgeous, inside and out! I’m glad you were able to help her see her beauty.

  3. Kathryn is such a beautiful little girl. Her heart is so big. I don’t think she is ugly, and if it was a boy who told her that, he is a big meanie head!

Leave a Reply

