Bittersweet…

Kathryn waiting for school to start (Thanks to a friend of mine for the photo!)

Yesterday, as everyone I suspect already knows, was the first day of school. Kathryn was excited for the change of routine. My husband was excited for the quiet time in the mornings (he works second shift) and I was excited for the chance to sleep in a little (I work nights).

 

They got up, I got home, and started what will be our normal morning routine. Kathryn got dressed without a fight and was, in fact, ready 30 minutes early.  We made our way to her new school and waited in the lengthy car line to drop her off. She’s in second grade this year, so the routine of taking her in ourselves and taking the photos of her in her classroom, or her at her desk, or her in front of her new school is getting to be old hat. In fact, we almost couldn’t drive away fast enough!

All week leading up to the first day of school, I couldn’t help but think, though, how bittersweet August 15 would be. I thought of how I’ve never, in 8 years, sent up those balloons I promised myself I would every year on this date. For the first time, I didn’t cry on August 15. For me, it’s a big step.

My best friend would have been 37 yesterday, but Hodgkin’s took him a month after his 29th birthday. August 15, 2003 was the last time I ever spoke to him. He made me promise to call him once I had my ultrasound that September to determine the sex of my child. He passed away six days before we learned that I was having a girl.

He left behind a wonderful wife and a 3-year old son. Yesterday, that son became a big brother as my best friend’s widow (now in a new relationship) gave birth to twins; a boy and a girl. Mom, dad and babies are all healthy and happy.

And so, now, instead of feeling sad for the birthday phone call I can no longer make, I can feel happy for the bigger family they now have.

***********************

On that note, here are a few other first day of school blogs from our site, if you’d like to take a peek!

ArkieMama (I work with her both at the Gazette and Scouts! She’s got two kiddos and one is slightly older than Kathryn.. AND she used to live in one of my home towns. Bonus!)

MoodyMom (her daughter is also just barely older than Kathryn.. yes, it seems we all got pregnant at once where I work)

She’s Crafty (Anne is also new to this blogging scene, but has some great crafting ideas that I might have to borrow from her!! Her Photoshop blog got me all excited!)

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Kathryn, Miscellaneous, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So sad to hear about your friend. But so wonderful to hear that new life has blossomed. Congrats to their family!

Leave a Reply

