A horse of a different color

A few days ago, I made an appointment with Kathryn’s pediatrician to see what we could do, or even what needed to be done to start working with Kathryn’s issues and possibly even place a finger on exactly what is wrong with my child.

I’ll start by saying that I still don’t have an actual diagnosis as I can’t really trust her school to be a a legitimate diagnostic tool. I may never get an actual diagnosis, but maybe that doesn’t matter. What matters most is having my child, mornings and sanity back when it comes to her behaviors.

The appointment had originally been scheduled for Monday, June 13, but due to scheduling conflicts on both ends, it was moved up to the 7th.

My mom came along to ask a few questions and to maybe get a behind-the scenes peek at what we have somewhat been dealing with at home. Kathryn was nervous about the appointment, concerned that there would be shots involved (she’s been afraid of the doctor ever since she was five and was held down by the nurse to give her two shots on the thigh. Unaware of Kathryn’s own strength, the nurse lost grip and Kathryn swung at the nurse, causing the needle to graze Kathryn’s leg.. it was a horrible experience for both of us). I assured her that there would be no shots this time. The doctor was just going to ask her some questions and go from there.

I explained to the pediatrician what’s been going on. He looked through her 504 paperwork and then spent a considerable amount of time talking about Kathryn’s clothing issues. She explained them to him quite well. He asked my mother and I maybe two questions and went back to talking to Kathryn. He looked at her now-destroyed tennis shoes and I informed him of the exact date of purchase; May 27. She explained to him that they simply can’t get tight enough. In fact, during the visit with the doctor (including while talking to him) she loosened and tightened the straps exactly three times. I counted. In the duration of our half hour visit she also had a VERY difficult time staying still on the exam table, scooting the span of the entire length of it (and back) many times, turning in circles like a pup trying to lay down and fidgeting. A lot. At one point in time, he undid the braids I had put in her hair and dropped both hair ties onto the floor. About 45 seconds later, her flailing arms hit the plug in the wall that keeps the otoscope charged. The plug fell to the floor, but it did not stop her from moving about the table.

The doc left the room and said he was going to look into something. About five minutes later, the nurse came in and said that her doctor was recommending hippotherapy for Kathryn. Initially, I thought of hydrotherapy, excited that Kathryn would get to go swimming. Then I thought again of the word and wondered how a large water creature with funny-looking bottom teeth could help my child? Maybe they mean a different kind of water horse. OOH! Maybe we’re going to Scotland! That would be fantastic!

“It’s in Ward,” the nurse said.

Shoot. There went Scotland.

However, there is the legendary White River Monster. But, I saw some rather terrible acting on a show about cryptozoology the other day that depicted the White River Monster and I couldn’t possibly see how that thing could have been therapeutic. If anything, it would increase anxiety in anyone!

My mother and I both said “Hippotherapy?” to the nurse.

“Equine therapy”, said the nurse.

OOH! Horsies! Yes! My daughter LOVES horses! Absolutely! I’ll throw her on a horse anytime! The only downfall, though, is that my insurance most likely won’t cover all of the costs. We’re working on that. I have to give them a call tomorrow for all the details, but Kathryn has been referred to Beyond Boundaries to work with her sensory issues.

When I told my husband the word “Hippotherapy” a couple of hours later, he (being the well-versed person he is) immediately recognized it as an equine program. Since I’m not fluent in Greek, however, I had to look up where the “hippo” part fit into the name. OH.. OK.. Hippo. I get it.

So, as I stated a moment ago, I told George about Kathryn’s prescription. Now, his concern is that Kathryn will now have issues with incontinence and increased hyperactivity once we tell her that her doc told her she has to ride her favorite animal to help her feel better.

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on June 8, 2011, in Kathryn. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

