Summer is finally here!

I am officially a parent of a second-grader. These seven years went by far too quickly for my taste. This is about the age where my memories of childhood become more and more vivid. I remember spending the summer after my first-grade year swimming at our local pool, having my cousins visit from Texas and helping my mother spray-paint every desk in my small parochial school.

Just as most kids do, Kathryn woke this morning bright-eyed, excited for her last day! She dressed quickly, ate quickly and mostly cooperated when it came to brushing hair. We did, however, have to try on two pairs of socks and five pairs of pants and skirts. Then came the shoes. This became a ten-minute ordeal, but we relished in the fact that it was also the new tennis-shoes’ last day, as well.

I must add here that not only was today my daughter’s last day of first grade, but it was also her last day at her second school since her educational career began in as many years. For personal reasons, we opted out of having her attend “Neighborhood School” and chose to place her into “Next School Down The Road”. We arranged her daycare around this transfer and made sure our respective schedules required her to go to after-school care, which was the only way we were able to get her to switch schools within the district we reside.

Now, my career does not necessitate after-school care and thus, we were defaulted back to “Neighborhood School”. Knowing of this well in advance, we applied to the “Local Charter School”, which is where she will be attending next year.

And so, for the past week, Kathryn has been in a slump, knowing full-well that she will not be spending her days with her friends she’s made since August any longer. She’s mentioned missing her best friend at school (who, incidentally, is a boy) and missing her teacher, Mrs. G.

Together, we brainstormed an efficient way to inform her friends that they can still keep in contact with her, set up play dates or be invited to birthday parties. I let her know that I do still have contact with some of my friends from Elementary School, including my elementary school ‘boyfriend’. Having moved on average every two years throughout my childhood, I understood how leaving a school as frequently as she already has can feel.

The other night, we came up with an idea. I created little business cards for her to pass amongst her classmates that gave my name, number, email and FaceBook in the event that any of her first-grade friends wanted to get together over the summer. I drew up a template. Kathryn approved the design, and I printed enough copies for her first-grade class.

This morning, I arrived at the school to attend her Honor Roll assembly. Two teachers came up to me and complimented me on the cards. One mentioned that unfortunately, I didn’t print enough for her, because Kathryn wanted to pass the cards out to all four of the first-grade classrooms.

Which leads me to my gloating mommy moment. Like I said, I was at her Honor Roll assembly with the spouse in tow. Kathryn was on the A/B honor roll her first quarter and on the Straight-A honor roll these last two quarters. Today, she gained recognition again for being on the A/B honor roll. She missed straight As by 1% in her Math class. I praised her up and down for her accomplishment because this means she completed first grade with a Straight-A average. I only personally recall getting an A average once in my school career, which wasn’t until I was taking Spanish and Writing one summer in college.

I left my child to enjoy some time with her friends and Mrs. G before I was to pick her up several hours later.  Once I did, I shipped her directly to her grandparents for the next 4 days.

Oh, so glad vacation is finally here!

About gespurr

Emily was born in Southwestern Louisiana and has moved over 20 times in her life through nine different states. Most of her life was spent in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, where she met her husband and had her only child. Both she and her husband are also only children. She graduated from Stillwater (MN) High School in 1992 and from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a BS in Journalism. Three years later, she met her husband, George, and they married in 2002. Their daughter, Kathryn, was born early in 2004. She relocated with her family back to Arkansas in 2005 after being away for 30 years. She currently works as a customer service representative for a wireless company and lives in North Little Rock. When not taking care of her daughter she is either cooking, working, cleaning house, sewing, gardening, knitting, crocheting hiking, traveling or spending time with her husband.

Posted on June 7, 2011, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

